Jackass Ridge after Work

Since I got back from Peru I’ve been working the day shift and it has really been eating into my recreation time. The singletrack in Truckee isn’t quite melted out yet which prevents me from riding my bike, so I’ve been looking for a quick short slope to ski after work. After looking around for about a week I caught my eye on the northwest facing slope descending from jackass ridge towards donner lake. Not a very long or steep slope, but just enough to get done before sunset and still be worth my while.

Skinning up from the train tracks

Looking down from the top

Looking back from across the highway

From car to car it took me a little more than an hour and although it’s not more than 500 vertical feet it’s better than going straight home after work.

Leave a comment

Filed under Backcountry Skiing, Skiing

Leave a comment